I did not want to wait too long to post the rest of my blog from a few days ago.  Plus I have a couple of other things to share with you. I am a dedicated foodie. I am always trying something new and I have found a few new recipes I thought I’d share. But first things first. Let’s wrap up the discussion about chicken:

What I wanted to talk about was buying a whole chicken and how much more economical it is than buying parts. There is no part of the chicken that I don’t use.  I recently purchased a chicken at $.98/lb. I paid $4.87 for a 4.97 lb chicken.

Whole chicken at $.98/lb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes I will take a chicken like this and roast it, but this time I did not intend to eat it immediately. This time I decided to use my crock pot (a church yard sale find for $3.00).

I had been wanting on of these for a long time when I found it at the yard sale. My Aunt Nelda uses one of these to make her roast with carrots and potatoes and they are always delicious. The bottom can also be used as a griddle. A pretty good buy for $3.00 and the perfect size for my little kitchen.

My first step was to cook this chicken on high for about 7-8 hours. I put it on in the morning and by the afternoon it was done. The meat was so tender. I deboned the chicken and put the dark and white meat in a bowl and put it in the refrigerator for use over the next several days.

The deboned chicken.

After all the chicken was removed, I put all the bones back into the crock pot in the broth that was left over. I added a few cups of water, some left over carrots and green beans and salt You can use any seasonings you prefer to season this broth. I left the broth to cook on medium overnight.  The next morning the broth was ready and the seasonings were cooked in. I used a strainer and strained the brother from the other bits. Those were discarded and I was ready to set my broth up for future use. Of course I would not be using all this broth at once, but I did want to have it on hand when I was ready. As someone following the fodmap diet, I cannot have store bought broth as it usually contains onions and/or garlic. So I make my own. Sometimes I use Herbs de Provence to season it. I keep it by freezing the broth in a muffin tin. Each round holds about 1/4 C. of broth. It is kept in the freezer and when I need them, I just pop a few out of the freezer. If you compare cost, broth from the store can go up to about $3.99 per container.

Freeze the broth in muffin tins. Pop them out and into a bag. Keep them in the freezer until ready to use.

The first thing we made with the chicken was fajitas. I sauteed onions and red peppers in a little olive oil. Then I added in the fajita seasoning. For mine I sauteed the red pepper in olive oil that I had saturated with a whole garlic clove and then added in some cumin, paprika,salt and blak and red pepper blend.  These were served on corn tortillas warmed in a cast iron skillet and topped with cheese.

Chicken Fajitas

On the second day I made chicken with rice. I cooked the rice with chicken broth and added in a little salt and pepper. The third day I decided I wanted Chicken Alfredo. I found a recipe on a wonderful website called Wendy Cooks. Visit the link to find this wonderful recipe. I paired mine with quinoa pasta but you can use any kind of pasta you like. So what I wanted to show you is that I have had four meals out of the meat from the chicken and several uses of chicken broth all for just under $5.00.

Now the final recipe I want to share with you today is for a yummy dessert. It is so easy to make.The recipe is for delicious Carrot Cake Mini Bundt Cakes.My muffin tin was being used for chicken broth at the moment so I decided to pull out my mini bundt pan which makes six mini bundts. I turned them out and drizzled them with frosting. I then topped the bundts with some crushed walnuts and voila! They are so delicious. Here is the recipe!

Carrot Cake Mini Bundts
Preheat oven to 350F
Cake:
 2 cups Bisquick (can use gluten free if you cannot have regular)
 1 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup granulated sugar
 1/2 cup brown sugar
3 eggs, lightly beaten
 1 cup oil (I used canola)
 1 tsp vanilla
 2 cups grated carrot
Icing: 8oz. cream cheese, softened
3 Tsp butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tsp lemon juice
2 cups icing sugar

Cake batter in the bundt tin.

Combine dry ingredients in one bowl and make sure it is well combined. Then add in the liquid ingredients. Stir until just mixed. Fill your mini bundt pan or muffin tin. (This can also be used to make a cake or loaf) Bake in the oven at 350F for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. (If you are making muffins, the time can be adjusted to 20-25 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack. Make the frosting and put into a plastic baggie with the tip cut out. Drizzle over the cooled bundts. Crush walnuts and sprinkle over the top.

Bundts on a cake plate.

These are so good!

In my parting shot I wanted to share my newest addition to my kitchen. As you may know I live in the house that was built by my grandfather, Clayton Hudgins, and my two uncles, Denton Hudgins and Jerry Hudgins. Before this house was built, there was another house we called “The Little House.” The Little House was where my mom and her sisters and brother grew up. It was located just a few feet from my house.  A couple of years ago we tore the house down as it had become unsafe. I tried to save some of the boards  from it with the intention to do something with them. Well last week when my dad was here, I had him cut down one of the boards so I could make a shelf. I finally got the shelf up in my kitchen today and here are some pictures of my repurposed wooden shelf:

Repurposed shelf

Repurposed shelf

Thank you for reading part 2 of my blog this week. I hope you are inspired by what you read and see. I would love to hear what you think.  Thanks for stopping by.

